## DIOCESE OF GUILDFORD

## PARISH OF GODALMING MINSTER

## **CHURCH REPRESENTATION RULES 2022**

## PROPOSED SCHEME FOR ESTABLISHMENT OF A PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL

- 1. The Parish of Godalming Minster ("the New Parish") was established by a Pastoral Scheme dated 7<sup>th</sup> August 2023 and comes into effect on 1st January 2024.
- 2. A Special Meeting of the New Parish will be called by the Rector and held early January 2024 under Rule M3 (1) of the 2022 Church Representation Rules (CRR).

All those on the New Parish Electoral Roll (see paragraph 6) attending this Special Meeting will be invited to elect members of the new Parochial Church Council (PCC) and Churchwardens (see paragraph 4) by adopting this Scheme, which has been prepared in accordance with the provisions of Rule M34 of the CRR for due representation on the PCC of the constituent congregations in the New Parish.

All business can be conducted at the Special Meeting (Rule M3 (2)) which will be the annual meeting.

Representatives of the three pre-Minster PCCs will reconvene in April 2024 to review and finalise respective accounts for 2023.

- 3. It is proposed that the members of the PCC shall comprise those persons, both ex officio and elected, as provided in the 2022 Church Representation Rules subject to the provisions of paragraph 4 following.
- 4. The Scheme shall run from the date of its adoption at the Special Meeting of the New Parish to the ACPM 2030, after which Church Representation Rules shall apply. The Scheme must cease or be replaced with a new Scheme by the APCM of 2030.
  - a) there shall be a maximum of 15 elected members of the laity each serving a three-year term; such members shall retire after serving two consecutive three-year terms but are eligible for reelection following a period of not less than one year after such retirement.
  - b) there is no requirement for one third of the elected members to retire each year, save for the drawing of lots (see 4f)).
  - c) as far as is practicable for the first PCC (formed in 2024) under the Scheme, the 15 elected lay members shall be as follows:
    - eight (8) of those elected shall be drawn from the congregations of Busbridge Church
    - three (3) of those elected shall be drawn from the congregations of St Peter & St
      Paul's Church
    - one (1) of those elected shall be drawn from the congregation of St Mark's Church
    - three (3) of those elected shall be drawn from the congregations of Hambledon Church
  - d) Each candidate standing for election shall declare which church they intend to represent.

- e) In the event of more candidates standing to represent a particular church than places available under 4c), an election shall be held in accordance with Rule M9.
  In the event of fewer candidates standing to represent a particular church than places available under 4c), any other member of the Electoral Roll may stand for election to fill those places.
- f) Following the election of members of the laity at the Special Meeting in 2024, those elected to the Parochial Church Council will draw lots for one third to stand down at the May 2025 APCM, one third at the May 2026 APCM and one third at the May 2027 APCM to ensure a degree of rotation in each subsequent year. Those standing down by lot may stand again at the following APCM one year after they stood down. The spaces created by those standing down each year will, as far as possible, be filled in such a way as to ensure the same breadth of representation of the congregations of the Old Parishes as established in the initial Minster PCC set up in accordance with paragraph 4c. Those standing to fill these spaces will be appointed for a three-year term and will be able to stand for a second three-year term before standing down.
- g) The stipendiary, SSM and OLM clergy under the age of 70 are on the Parochial Church Council.
- h) One Local Licensed Minster (LLM) shall be voted to the Parochial Church Council at the Parochial Church meeting in 2024 and at subsequent APCMs. The LLMs may elect to choose who they wish to represent them on the Parochial Church Council before the Parochial Church meeting.
- i) For the first three years, from 1<sup>st</sup> January 2024, the two Churchwardens of the new parish shall be drawn from the existing Churchwardens of the former parishes as of 11<sup>th</sup> July 2022 when the existing PCCs voted to become the New Parish, as far as is practicable. If a vacancy of Churchwarden occurs in this period, then the replacement Churchwarden is drawn from the existing Churchwardens as of 11<sup>th</sup> July 2022, as far as is practicable. For these three years, as a transition period for stability and continuity, only existing churchwardens of the previous parishes as of 11<sup>th</sup> July 2022 when the existing PCCs voted to become the New Parish may stand. If none are willing to stand, then CRR Rules apply.
- j) The Parochial Church Council may annually, at its discretion, appoint up to four Deputy Churchwardens, to support the Churchwardens, including care for each church building and churchyard. The Deputy Churchwardens are appointed by the PCC, but they are not appointed to the Parochial Church Council.
- 5. The Standing Committee of the Parochial Church Council shall, delegated with the Powers of the Parochial Church Council, comprise: the Incumbent of the New Parish, the Churchwardens, stipendiary clergy, and three members elected by the Parochial Church Council. As far as practicable, these members shall be one each from Hambledon, St Peter and St Paul's/St Mark's and Busbridge. The Hon Treasurer shall be entitled to attend meetings of the Standing Committee but shall not have a vote unless a member of the PCC. The Parochial Church Council may, at its discretion, amend the powers it grants the Standing Committee in accordance with the Church Representation Rules.
- 6. The Electoral Rolls of the Old Parishes that constitute the New Minster Parish become the single Electoral Roll of the New Minster Parish on 1<sup>st</sup> January 2024. GDPR permissions from the previous Electoral Rolls transfer to the new single Electoral Roll as the merged Roll becomes the successor to the previous Rolls.
- 7. The CRR shall apply in all respects save for the provisions of this scheme. Any clergy who are stipendiary and deployed within the Minster and are over 70 are automatically co-opted annually for the duration of the first Parochial Church Council term (three years). The number of people who can be co-opted shall not exceed one-fifth of the number of actual members of the laity. In

- accordance with CRR Rule 9, an APCM may make a scheme to amend or supplement this scheme under Rule 12. For example, if the shares of laity in 4c) are no longer consistent with the sizes of congregations attending each of the churches in the Parish.
- 8. This scheme, if approved by the Bishop's Council, then shared for information with the PCCs of the Old Parishes in Autumn 2023, and subsequently accepted by those present and voting at the Special Meeting in January 2024, in accordance with Rule M34 of the Church Representation Rules 2022, shall have immediate effect.
- 9. Statutory notice of the date and venue for the inaugural Special Meeting will be given during December 2023. Voting will be by those physically present at the meeting.

03 November 2023