

MINUTES OF SPECIAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING Parish of Godalming Minster Sunday 7th January 2024

Present: Chair- Simon Taylor, Canon John Harkin, Simon Willetts, Patrick & Sheila Samuels, Linda & Mark Alcock, David & Lin Allen, Ceri Apark, Janice Arnold, Sandra Avenell, Hilda Barrett, Anthony & Jean Barron, Liz Beckingham, Alan Betts, Sarah Black, Andrew Bolton, David & Kate Brockman, Jenna Brown, Sarah & William Bryans, Annie Bryett, Sandra Campbell, David Chadwick, Anthony & Toni Charter, Sebastian Cheek, Janet & Peter Davies, Sara Davison, Lynda Donaldson, Fran & Andrew Duffell, Patrick Elshen, Sylvia Gatehouse, Juliet Gilbert, Michael & Helen Goatley,, Shelagh & Jim Godwin, Catherine & Tony Gordon-Smith, Liz Gorst, Matthew Greenfield, Clare & Souheil Haddad, William Halford, David & Shan Hallam, Sue & Michael Hardy, Sue Harkin, Keith Harper, Gavin Harper, Pauline Harrison, David & Karen Hart, Alan Harvey, Michael & Judith Hawkey, Nicky & Richard Hemery, Victoria Hicks, Sarah & June Higgins, Gillian Hillman, Dudley Hilton, Helen Hudgell, Elizabeth Jenkins, George & Jill Johnston, Jamie & Ruth Johnston, Carol-ann Jones, Tom Jones, Kate Kaye, Stephen Kinder, Jane & Martin Lambert, Suzie Lambert, Jenny Lansdowne, Caroline Luard, Jill Mace, Gillian Martin, Alison Martin, Ros Mason, Leonora Miles, Nick & Nin Moore, Raymond Moore, Owen Morgan, Kyra Mumford, Julie Nelson, Cyril & Sandra Netley, Julie & Peter Newman, Vickie Nye, Pat Oxborough, Matthew Padian, Nigel Pollock, Jeannie Postill, Hilary Reeve, Lesley Reeves, Judith Rolfe, Jacqui Rook, Adrian & Elizabeth Sadler, Bob Sallybanks, Peter& Frances Shaw, Graham Sheldrake, Graham & Rachel Sopp, Barbara & Colin Stokes, Michael Stubbs, Catherine Taylor, Ian & Jane Tomes, Paul & Sheelagh Vacher, David & Sandra Wilkin, Mark & Katrina Williams, Laura Williams, Izzy & James Wilson, Sally Wood, Deborah Woodward.

Apologies: Penny Naylor, Ed & Chris Payne, Arthur Blackman, Una Moore. Visitor: Wendy Harris (Guildford Diocese)

Welcome by Rector, Simon Taylor (ST).

ST welcomed everyone. Referring to Acts 2:42-46 and the feast of Epiphany, he reminded us that Jesus did not come just for the Jews but that the invitation to God's kingdom is for everyone. Our joint purpose is to spread the good news and extend the kingdom of God.

He thanked Wendy Harris for attending to answer any questions about formalities, described the agenda and explained the process the meeting would follow.

He invited any further offers from those present to stand for the elections. There were none.

There was then a short time of prayer.

1. Adopt a Scheme for the establishment of a Parochial Church Council (PCC).

This was circulated to all members of the electoral roll who have agreed to be sent information from the Church Office and has been available for scrutiny on the Church websites. It was assumed everyone has therefore had the opportunity to read it.

Proposed by Ian Tomes. Seconded by Alison Martin.

Against: 0 Abstained: 1 For: Everyone else present who is entitled to vote.



2. Election of 2 Churchwardens (as Meeting of Parishioners):

David Wilkin and William Bryans were both nominated and agreed to stand. There were no other nominees so both were duly elected.

3. Report on the numbers entered on the Minster Electoral Roll

Hilary Reeve confirmed there were 469 names on the newly created electoral roll for Godalming Minster. Of these, 362 lived within the boundaries of the parish.

4. Election of up to 15 parochial representatives of the laity to the PCC

Nominations from the former parish of Busbridge:

Sarah Black, Martin Lambert, Ian Tomes, Karen Hart, Patrick Elshen, Sebastian Cheek Stephen Kinder, James Wilson As there were only 8 nominations for the 8 places permitted under the terms of the scheme, all were elected unopposed.

Nominations from the former parish of Hambledon:

David Chadwick, Andrew Dunn, Gavin Harper.

As there were only 3 nominations for the 3 places permitted under the terms of the scheme, all were elected unopposed.

Nomination from the former congregation of St Marks:

Mike Hawkey

As there was just one nomination for the single place permitted under the terms of the scheme, Mike Hawkey was elected unopposed.

Nominations from the former congregation of St Peter and Paul:

Hilary Reeve, Andrew Bolton, Leonora Miles, Anthony Barron, Adrian Sadler

As there were more nominations than the 3 places permitted under the terms of the scheme, an election was held. The process was explained thus:

- Every member of the electoral roll for Godalming Minster was entitled to up to 3 votes.
- There was no compulsion to vote if candidates were not known to the voter.
- Votes were cast for each person singly, and that individual was invited to leave the room for their own vote.
- Voting was conducted by a show of hands, counted by 2 individuals who conferred to ensure there was agreement.
- Those elected were: Leonora Miles, Hilary Reeve, Adrian Sadler. Numbers of votes cast for each person were not made public.

All nominees were thanked for their willingness to stand for a position.

5. Election of up to 6 representatives of the laity to Deanery Synod:

Nominations were received for Jill Mace, Graham Sopp, Janice Arnold, Malcolm Smith. As there were only 4 nominations for the 6 places permitted under the terms of the scheme, all were duly elected.

GODALMING

6. Appointment of the auditor:

Martin Lambert (former Treasurer for Busbridge) introduced himself as acting Treasurer pending approval by PCC.

He recommended Moore South be approved as the auditor for this financial year. They have been auditing Busbridge accounts for several years and continuity would be helpful with so much ongoing change to financial matters.

This was approved by all present.

7. Any other matters of parochial or general church interest.

Nothing else was raised.

Simon Taylor presented gifts of appreciation to Treasurers, Church Wardens and others who had been instrumental in the work of becoming a Minster and closed the meeting.